The Clown wants his Pants Back!

I’m going to start this blog with a somber story. A couple of weeks ago a good friend of mine’s father passed away. It was a sad time for us girls as we are all very close and couldn’t bear the thought of seeing one of our best friends going through such a hard time, and we all knew her father well. He always had a great sense of humour and saw the good in life, so it was fitting that our friend asked us not to wear all black to the funeral, but to wear colours because that is what he would have wanted.

I try to avoid wearing all black at funerals, but when I got the message about colours, I couldn’t go past this silk maxi skirt I had sitting in my wardrobe just waiting to come out and brighten someones day.

Image

The skirt is one I designed myself and it was sewn together with the impeccable skills of Mrs C herself.  It is high waisted, lightweight,  silk, and well, slightly transparent. I have a thing against lining, I much prefer petticoats, or something of the like, under my designs. With such a bold skirt, I had to be mindful that I was attending a somber occasion and I toned it down with a black t-shirt dress (doubling as a ‘petticoat’) and tights, neutral jacket and boots.

The funeral was a Friday afternoon, so I wore this outfit to work first. On my walk to work, I couldn’t help but notice that the skirt was definitely turning heads, and bringing smiles to people’s faces! It’s so rare to see someone wearing such bright colours in the midst of winter, and i honestly think this eye catching skirt added a little brightness to people’s day. I even had one lady stop me in the street to tell me that my skirt was really beautiful.

I was a little apprehensive about wearing the skirt to the funeral, had I been too bold, too presumptions to wear such bright clothing on such a sad occasion?  I was relieved when I arrived and saw a room full of people in bright scarves, floral outfits, white dresses, and even men in Hawaiian shirts. My beautiful friend was wearing a long aqua blue dress and looked angelic as she said a heart wrenching  farewell to her father. The colours were a really lovely touch, and a very fitting goodbye to one of the most kindhearted and loving souls I have ever met.

Image

Afterwards, at the wake, we celebrated the life of one amazing man, with champagne of course. One of my friends and I decided to post a picture of us with our champagne on Facebook.  After many lovely comments from some friends on the photo, my brother piped up and commented “the clown wants his pants back”.  Well, brothers always have a way of bursting your bubble don’t they!  I must say, I did have a bit of a chuckle at this, but it won’t stop me from wearing this skirt again. It’s worth it for the sunshine it brings to me alone from wearing it, and I like to believe that it did bring a little ray of sunshine into an otherwise cloudy day, metaphorically speaking.

K x

This blog (and skirt) is dedicated to an amazing man, Glenn Sage, and his even more amazing daughter Debbie Sage. Love you xxx

Leave a Reply

